vividideas

Thoughts, Ideas, Recipes, Tips….

Lemon Cake July 7, 2011

Filed under: Random Recipes — jkomal @ 6:28 pm

I always loved baking, but never had the time or never made the effort to bake. Today, surprisingly I had some time and I thought why not bake? I first thought of making apple pie..but I didn’t have apples…So now what? I had some lemons in the fridge that were picked from my mom’s garden..I was like let me try out baking some lemon cake :). The smell and taste of freshly baked cake is just out of this world and especially when you have it with a cup of steaming hot coffee while sitting by the window and watching the rain drizzle down.  By the way, the cake came out perfect!!

Here is the recipe…

Ingredients

2 cups all purpose flour

1 cup sugar (I used granulated sugar)

4 eggs

1 tbsp of lemon zest

¼ cup lemon juice

100 gms butter (I used salted butter)

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

Method

  • Firstly, prepare your baking tin, by greasing it with butter and sprinkling some flour on the tin. You can use baking paper as well.
  • Now in a large bowl, break in the eggs and add the sugar. Beat it well till the sugar is properly mixed in with the eggs and it appears fluffy.
  • Preheat the oven at 180 degrees C.
  • Now add the butter (get it to room temperature) to the mixture and beat it well.
  • Now sift in together two cups of flour, baking powder and baking soda directly into the bowl of egg, sugar and butter mixture. Mix with the help of a spatula. It should be a smooth bather with no lumps.
  • Add the lemon zest and lemon juice. Mix properly.
  • Now immediately pour the batter in the baking tray and bake it at 180 degrees C for 35-40 minutes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

