vividideas

Thoughts, Ideas, Recipes, Tips….

Carrot Cake June 23, 2011

Filed under: Random Recipes — jkomal @ 9:36 pm
Tags:

My mom wanted me to bake her some carrot cake. I was very happy to bake a cake for her. But when I went to inspect her microwave oven, I realized it had no convection mode. So I was like..now what!! Nevertheless, I thought I must go ahead and try baking it in the Microwave in the “Microwave mode”. It really came out nice. Unlike in convection cooking, the cake didn’t have the brown crust but just a pale top. But it tasted yum, light and fluffy. The best part it takes only 6-7 minutes in the microwave, instead of 35-40 minutes in the convection oven.

Here is the recipe …

Ingredients

2 cups of all purpose flour (maida)

3 cups of grated carrot

1 cup sugar (I like cakes that are mildly sweet, if you want your cake to be really sweet and sugary then use 2 cups of sugar)

4 eggs

1 cup oil (I used sunflower oil, you can use any oil you want to)

1 tsp baking powder (I used a double action baking powder)

1 tsp baking soda ( I replaced baking soda with baking powder because I ran out of baking soda)

1 tsp cinnamon powder

A handful of chopped nuts (I used walnuts)

Method

  • Sieve the flour along with the baking powder in a big bowl.
  • Coat your baking tin or tray with some oil and flour.
  • Now in a separate bowl, beat the eggs and sugar. When the sugar and eggs are mixed properly, add this mixture to the flour bowl.
  • Mix it well, so that no lumps are formed.
  • Add the oil and mix well.
  • Now add the carrots and cinnamon powder and mix well.
  • Mix in the nuts and then pour the batter into the baking tray.
  • Bake it in microwave mode (high power) for 7 minutes. Let it stand in the microwave for about 15 minutes. Then take the cake out and serve.
  • If you want to bake it in convection mode, then you will need to preheat your oven at 180 degrees 10 minutes before baking. Then bake it at 180 degrees for 30 minutes.
 

Leave a Reply

