vividideas

Thoughts, Ideas, Recipes, Tips….

Hummous February 26, 2011

Filed under: Middle Eastern Platter — jkomal @ 3:26 pm

One of the plus points of living in the middle east is its tasty and scrumptious food. Ever since I came to live in India, I longed to eat the dishes that I grew up eating. Hummous, Mushakal, Shish taouk, the kababs, Shawarmas and the various kinds of salads.

I have tried a number of Lebanese restaurants in Gurgaon and Navi Mumbai but never found the food to meet my expectations. After all I had the best, while living in Kuwait. So I thought, to take things into my own hands and prepare a lovely Lebanese spread for lunch. The menu comprised of hummous, shish taouk and feta salad, served with pita bread. I was very happy with the end result…. Yay!! my hard work paid off. Hubby dear enjoyed it and said the food tasted very much like the food in “Palm Palace” – a lovely Lebanese restaurant in Kuwait.

Please try these recipes for yourself as well and tell me how it came out and if you enjoyed eating it.

For the Hummous,

Ingredients

I1/2 cup of cooked chickpeas

3-4 tbsp of tahini (sesame seed paste)

3 cloves of garlic (chopped)

Some lemon juice (1/2 a lemon)

Extra virgin olive oil

Salt

Method

  • Put all the ingredients in the food processor and blend it well to form a smooth and creamy paste. Use water to blend the mixture.
  • Serve it on a small platter with a drizzle of olive oil.

This dish goes well with pita bread or makes a great spread for sandwiches.

Click here for -> Shish Taouk and Feta Salad recipes

 

One Response to “Hummous”

  1. […] with all the cooked and raw vegetables. Add the falafels in it and pour some tahini sauce. I used hummous as the sauce for the […]


Leave a comment